Top 5 This Week

More articles

Karen Pheasant named to Dance Hall of Fame

CALGARY—Karen Pheasant-Neganigwane of Wiikwemkoong Unceded Territory, who now lives and works in Calgary, Alberta said that being named as an 2023 inductee into the Dance Collection Danse (DCD) Hall of Fame was a complete surprise.

“When they told me, I was in shock for 48 hours,” stated Mr. Pheasant-Neganigwane. “I am now closer to 70 than 60, I have three children, eight grandchildren, and I am now a university professor. I have been focussing on being an academic for many years. My priorities are different than they were in the past. But dance has always been part of my life.”

The fifth annual DCD Hall of Fame, presented by Dance Collection Danse, announced the 2023 inductees of notable contributions to dance from across the country on October 2. The DCD Hall of Fame will honour and celebrate dynamic lifelong contributions to dance in Canada with a ceremony on Sunday, November 5 at the Palais Royale in Toronto.

“The 2023 Dance Collection Danse Hall of Fame inductees represent a diverse range of dance forms and backgrounds, highlighting the rich tapestry of the dance world. The evening will feature remarks from illustrious presenters, and inductees, live performances by the current generation of elite dancers, and a food and cocktail reception,” a release explained.

“We are honoured to recognize these (13) extraordinary individuals for their profound contributions to the world of dance,” said Amy Bowring, executive director of DCD. “Their artistry, creativity, and dedication have enriched the lives of countless people, and we are thrilled to celebrate their legacy.”